Evolution and primitive communism - a reply

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
jk1921
Evolution and primitive communism - a reply
Printer-friendly version

The discussion that follows was prompted by the article: Evolution and primitive communism - a reply. The discussion was initiated by jk1921.
Below is the discussion so far. Feel free to add your own comments!

jk1921
I am far from an expert on

I am far from an expert on this stuff, but I remain not a big fan of "selfish-gene" theory. It may hold something like the scientific consenus at the moment, but we know from the history of evolutionary theory that the consensus has often been transcended. My only point is that there are alternatives in evolutionary theory, in particular the work of Stephen Jay Gould, but these seem to be ignored in the focus on Knight's work--who clearly situates himself in the gene-centered view of evolution, following Dawkins. I think it would be beneficial to the rest of us if the comrades who have an interest in this subject could broaden the terrain a little bit in their investigations.

Fred
glorious evolutionary accidents?

Hello jk and thanks for the link to Stephen Jay Gould.  He is eminently quotable, and I copy three which I have run together. 

Quote:
“We have become, by the power of a glorious evolutionary accident called intelligence, the stewards of life's continuity on earth. We did not ask for this role, but we cannot abjure it... I am, somehow, less interested in the weight and convolutions of Einstein’s brain than in the near certainty that people of equal talent have lived and died in cotton fields and sweatshops... We are the offspring of history, and must establish our own paths in this most diverse and interesting of conceivable universes—one indifferent to our suffering, and therefore offering us maximum freedom to thrive, or to fail, in our own chosen way.”